Reach Out, Touch Melissa / Estirate, Y Tocá Melissa

As I was about to start a crusade to get the Melissa Vivienne Westwood Wing in black,I found out the news I’ve been waiting to hear since 2002: MELISSA IS COMING. In the past, there were a couple of Melissas in a few shops every now and then, but either the selection of the colours was poor, or the ones I loved wouldn’t make the cut. And the rumor of a Melissa store in Buenos Aires was already hinted before, so obviously, I didn’t want to believe it at first. But my friend Florencia couldn’t say something like this unless she had good informants, it’s a delicate matter as you can see. The very next day I flee there first thing in the morning (I would have gone the day before, but it was 23 o’clock…) And there it was. As I approached the sing with the big M my heart pound as if it was David Bowie standing to have te with me. I even gasped to the horror of people walking by: It’s true, it exists. Trying to keep my cool and maintaining the grace was never something I ever had in mind, so when I found the metal shutters down I squashed my face against it, and while the dirt of it tinted my nose, my mouth opened wide like that of a child entering Hamleys (seven-floor monstrous toy store in London). It was a bittersweet moment, exhilarating on the one side, to see all the shoes that I’ve was starting to try to get at the reach of the hand, but with a curtain between us. After a good half an hour of staring at a closed shop window, and having the next door sellers a bit weirded up, I returned home victorious, without melissa, but with a promise and an obscene amount of adrenaline. For now, that was good enough.

The store isn’t open yet, but I’m sure to let you know as soon as it is, and most probable, you will find me there, drooling. It’s already located in Gurruchaga 1875.

mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Estaba a punto de emprender la cruzada para conseguir las Melissa Viviente Westwood Wing en negro cuando me enteré de la noticia que estaba esperando recibir desde el 2002: VIENE MELISSA. En el pasado hubieron algunos modelos esporádicamente barajados entre algunos locales muy de vez en cuando, a cuentagotas, pero o la carta de color era escasa, o bien los que a mí me gustaban no lograban entrar en la selección. Y el rumor de un local de Melissa ya había sido amagado antes, con lo cual no quería creerlo al principio. Pero mi amiga Florencia no podría decirme semejante notición si no viniera de buenos informantes, es un tema delicado, como podrán apreciar. A primera hora del día siguiente me precipité hacia la prometida locación (hubiera ido el día que me entere, pero eran las 11 de la noche…). Y ahí estaba. A medida que me acercaba al cartel con la M gigante, mi corazón saltaba como si estuviera David Bowie esperándome para tomar un tecito. Inclusive, para el horror de los transeúntes próximos me dije entre los dientes: Es verdad, existe. Mantener la compostura y la gracia nunca fue algo importante para mi, por lo que cuando encontré las cortinas de metal bajas, aplasté mi cara contra ella, y mientras su mugre me teñía la nariz, mi boca se abría como la de un nene que entra a Hemley’s (juguetería monstruosa de siete pisos en Londres). Fue un momento agridulce, la aceleración que genera ver todos los zapatos que iba a empezar a intentar obtener ahí, al alcance de la mano, pero con una cortina de por medio. Después de una linda media hora de mirar tildada fijo una vidriera de un local cerrado, y habiendo empezado a desconcertar a los vendedores aledaños, volví a casa victoriosa, sin Melissa, pero con una promesa y una cantidad obscena de adrenalina. Por ahora, eso era suficiente.

A pesar de que el local aún no me abrió sus puertas (Sí, es personal), no les quepa la menor duda que voy a hacerles saber en cuanto las abran, y probablemente me encuentren allá, babeando. De cualquier manera, ya está sito en Gurruchaga 1875.

This entry was posted in Store / Local, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

